Which Universities Don’t Require Application Fee In South Africa

What is a University?

A university is an institution of higher education and research that awards academic degrees in several academic disciplines. 

Which Universities Don’t Require Application Fee In South Africa?

1. University of Johannesburg

If you wish to become a part of UJ, apply now as 2022 applications are now open. With no application fee, applying is simple at UJ.

2. northwest University

Northwest University has opened its applications and no application fee is needed. They offer Undergraduate studies, Postgraduate studies, Distance Learning, and Short Courses. NWU has three campuses, namely: the Mafikeng Campus, Potchefstroom Campus, and the Vaal Triangle Campus.

3. University of the Free State

The University of the Free State has opened its applications so you need to apply now. The University does not need an application fee to be paid to apply.


UFS has nine faculties for prospective students to choose from. Along with these faculties, they also offer Open Distance Learning and Business School. Students can also participate in more than 22 different sports disciplines.

4. Sol Plaatje University

Sol Plaatje University doesn’t need an application fee to apply. The University is yet to open its applications.

5. Central University of Technology

The Central University of Technology (CUT) will open its applications for 2022 in June but no worries, you won’t be asked to pay an application fee.

6. Nelson Mandela University

Prospective students who wish to study at Nelson Mandela University are invited to apply for a certificate, diploma, or degree qualification using NMU’s online application system.

A bonus? No application fee!

7. Cape Peninsula University of Technology

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) does not require an application fee as part of the application process. CPUT applications are usually open in June every year.

8. Walter Sisulu University

Walter Sisulu University (WSU) applications will open in June. WSU accepts online applications only with no application fee.

At WSU, they provide you with affordable, appropriate, career-focused, and professional programs that address rural development and urban renewal with a primary emphasis on science, technology, and development studies.

9. University of Limpopo

The University of Limpopo (UL) will open its applications in June and you will not need an application fee to apply. The online application is free and you will need a valid email address and an internet connection.

UL courses fall under the following faculties: Health Sciences, Science & Agriculture, Humanities and Management & Law.

10. University of the Western Cape

The University of the Western Cape welcomes prospective students to apply for undergraduate and postgraduate courses for the academic year and they don’t require an application fee.