Which Universities Accept Maths Literacy In South Africa

What is a University?

A university is an institution of higher education and research that awards academic degrees in several academic disciplines.

Which Universities Accept Maths Literacy In South Africa?

University of Cape Town (UCT)

University of Johannesburg (UJ)

University of Pretoria (UP)

University of the Free State (UFS)

University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)

University of Limpopo (UL)

North-West University (NWU)

Is maths literacy compulsory in South Africa?

This phase in South Africa consists of grades 10-12, with learners generally aged between 15 and 18. 

The introduction of Mathematical Literacy alongside Mathematics makes a mathematically-orientated course compulsory for all these learners.

What is the pass rate for maths literacy in South Africa?

The pass rate for mathematics at SG or HG of just under 50% compares poorly with the general pass rate for the senior certificate of 73%.