List Of Courses Offered At Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University SMU

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences Courses, The programmes are grouped in terms of the following categories:

  • Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Speech, Hearing and Sight
  • Dietetics and Nutrition
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Public Health
  • Oral Health
  • Science
  • Medical Technology
  • Veterinary Science

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences Courses, In the tables below, all programmes listed in black are programmes that the Medunsa campus currently offers. All programmes listed in red are new programmes, i.e. programmes not currently offered on the Medunsa campus of the University of Limpopo.


Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) (incl. ECP)

Bachelor of Radiography (Diagnosis)

Bachelor of Science Honours in Medical Sciences – various

Bachelor of Science in Medical Sciences

Master of Medicine – MMed (in various specialisations)

Master of Science in Medical Sciences[ Where this programme already exists, enrolments should be increased.

Master of Science in Medicine – MSc (Medicine)

Master of Science in Medicine – MSc (in various specialisations)

MSc (Clinical Psychology)

MSc (Counseling Psychology)

Doctor of Medicine (MD in General Surgery)

Doctor of Medical Science

Phd (in various specialisations)

School of Medicine:

Bachelor of Diagnostic Radiography
Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery

School of Health Care Sciences:

Bachelor of Sciences in Dietetics
Bachelor of Nursing Sciences & Arts
Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
Bachelor of Physiotherapy
Bachelor of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology

School of Oral Health Sciences:

Bachelor of Dental Surgery
Bachelor of Dental Therapy
Bachelor of Oral Hygiene

School of Pharmacy:

Bachelor of Pharmacy

School of Science and Technology:

 Bachelor of Science