BTh at University of Pretoria

A Bachelor of Theology or BTh is a 3-year undergraduate course that has been designed to equip students for Christian ministry and to lead people with spiritual discipline and knowledge.

Admission requirements

The following persons will be considered for admission: a candidate who is in possession of a certificate that is deemed by the University to be equivalent to the required Grade 12 certificate with university endorsement; a candidate who is a graduate from another tertiary institution or has been granted the status of a graduate of such an institution; and a candidate who is a graduate of another faculty at the University of Pretoria.

Life Orientation is excluded in the calculation of the APS.

Minimum requirements 
Achievement LevelAPS
Afrikaans or English
(23-24 admission based on NBT)

Programme information

This programme offers general theological education to students who have passed the National Senior Certificate with admission to degree studies. It also provides a basis for denominational programmes, formation and practical training with a view to the ministry.

A fixed curriculum with very few electives is prescribed.

A student who registers for this programme has to submit his or her curriculum to the Programme Coordinator for approval at the beginning of each academic year.

Duration of study: 3 years

What are the 4 types of theology?

The four types include biblical theology, historical theology, systematic (or dogmatic) theology, and practical theology.

What jobs can you get with a degree in religion?


Charity officer for a religious non-profit



Youth Director

Technical writer