AU Offices In South Africa

What is an AU?

The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).

AU Offices In South Africa

Geneva Offices

Head of Mission: Ajay Kumar Bramdeo, South Africa (appointed by the Chairperson of the Commission in February 2018)

AU Permanent Representative to the United Nations and World Trade Organization
127, Rue des Pâquis 36 CH-1211 Geneva 21, Switzerland

Tel: +41 22 716 0640
Fax: +41 22 731 6818
Email: or mission-

What is AU in South Africa?

The African Union (AU) was officially launched in July 2002 in Durban, South Africa, following a decision in September 1999 by its predecessor, the OAU to create a new continental organization to build on its work.

Is South Africa part of the AU?

Eastern Africa, Thirteen Member States: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. 

Southern Africa, Ten Member States: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.